The difference between destructive and constructive sadness

Written by Yanki Tauber Posted in Inspiration

Chassidic teaching differentiates between two types of sorrow: merirut, a constructive grief, and atzvut, a destructive grief. Merirut is the distress of one who not only recognizes his failings but also cares about them; one who agonizes over the wrongs he has committed, over his missed opportunities, over his unrealized potential; one who refuses to become indifferent to what is deficient in himself and his world. Atzvut is the distress of one who has despaired of himself and his fellow man, whose melancholy has drained him of hope and initiative. Merirut is a springboard for self-improvement; atzvut is a bottomless pit.

How does one distinguish between the two? The first is active, the second—passive. The first one weeps, the second’s eyes are dry and blank. The first one’s mind and heart are in turmoil, the second’s are still with apathy and heavy as lead. And what happens when it passes, when they emerge from their respective bouts of grief? The first one springs to action: resolving, planning, taking his first faltering steps to undo the causes of his sorrow. The second one goes to sleep. (Based on Tanya, Ch. 31)

Reprinted with permission from The Week In Review

About the Author

Comments (1)

  • anon


    07 April 2014 at 17:27 |
    But what for someone who truly has no perspective - is such a person (especially when he or she is someone with great dreams and potential)doomed to live with this grief for as long as his or her circumstances last (or change in a miraculous way)? And why would Hashem endow some with vision, while simultaneously place them in a situation that makes it impossible to do anything with it? Or it should be by breaking other laws or commitment of Hashem, which cannot ber an option?

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.